The Sweetness of Water

But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . . '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times ...

The Sweetness of Water

The Sweetness of Water

**LONGLISTED FOR THE 2021 BOOKER PRIZE** A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK, AND BARACK OBAMA SUMMER READING 2021 SELECTION 'A fine, lyrical novel, impressive in its complex interweaving of the grand and the intimate, of the personal and political' Observer An extraordinary novel of life after slavery for readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END. In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war. When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . . '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times Readers have been swept away by The Sweetness of Water: 'Such a powerful, magnificent book; I urge you to read it. The comparisons with Colson Whitehead are justified' ***** 'A staggering debut and a story that stays with you' ***** 'Thought-provoking and moving . . . a gripping and compelling novel that exposes flaws, mixed emotions and imperfect relationships, and yet it holds on with determination and hope. It fully deserves a 5-star rating' ***** 'Outstanding . . . A book that deserves widespread recognition and a wide audience' *****

More Books:

The Sweetness of Water
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Nathan Harris
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-15 - Publisher: Hachette UK

**LONGLISTED FOR THE 2021 BOOKER PRIZE** A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK, AND BARACK OBAMA SUMMER READING 2021 SELECTION 'A fine, lyrical novel, impressive in its complex interweaving of the grand and the intimate, of the personal and political' Observer An extraordinary novel of life after slavery
Gap Creek
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Robert Morgan
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-08-21 - Publisher: Algonquin Books

A New York Times Bestseller & Oprah's Book Club Pick Young Julie Harmon works “hard as a man,” they say, so hard that at times she’s not sure she can stop. People depend on her to slaughter the hogs and nurse the dying. People are weak, and there is so
Lila (Oprah's Book Club)
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Marilynne Robinson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-07 - Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award National Book Award Finalist A new American classic from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Gilead and Housekeeping Marilynne Robinson, one of the greatest novelists of our time, returns to the town of Gilead in an unforgettable story of a girlhood lived on
Drowning Ruth (Oprah's Book Club)
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Christina Schwarz
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-07 - Publisher: Hachette UK

No. 1 New York Times bestseller: 'Powerful... Suspenseful... chilling' New York Times Christina Schwarz's bestselling novel DROWNING RUTH is a powerful and shocking psychological drama, for everyone who loved THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS or THE TENDERNESS OF WOLVES. At the close of World War One, Amanda Starkey leaves the city
A Tale of Two Cities and Great Expectations (Oprah's Book Club)
Language: en
Pages: 848
Authors: Charles Dickens
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-12-06 - Publisher: Penguin

Two of the most beloved novels in all of English literature-together in one extraordinary volume. A TALE OF TWO CITIES After eighteen years as a political prisoner in the Bastille, the ageing Doctor Manette is finally released and reunited with his daughter in England. There the lives of the two

Popular All Time

The Bowery
A Walk in the Woods
The Little Black Book of Florence and Tuscany
Londoners
Paris Revealed
The Bonjour Effect
Rick Steves Pocket Prague
Mendocino Outdoors
Fodor's Essential Greece
The Tao of Travel
A Year in Provence
Hawaii The Big Island Revealed
Rick Steves Greece: Athens & the Peloponnese
Rick Steves Italy
Maui Revealed
The Deepest South of All
Mexico Travel Guide
Switzerland Travel Guide

Recent Books: