The Feather Thief

The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.

The Feather Thief

The Feather Thief

As heard on NPR's This American Life “Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller.” —Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air “One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever.” —Christian Science Monitor A rollicking true-crime adventure and a captivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief. On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins—some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them—and escaped into the darkness. Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.

More Books:

The Feather Thief
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Kirk Wallace Johnson
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-04-24 - Publisher: Penguin

As heard on NPR's This American Life “Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller.” —Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air “One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever.” —Christian Science Monitor A rollicking true-crime adventure and a
Animate Creation
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: John George Wood
Categories: Zoology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1885 - Publisher:

Books about Animate Creation
Our Living World
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: John George Wood
Categories: Zoology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1885 - Publisher:

Books about Our Living World
Pigeon P.I.
Language: en
Pages: 40
Authors: Meg McLaren
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-03-02 - Publisher: Random House

Pigeon private investigator Murray just wants to take things easy, but when kind-hearted Vee starts to sing like a canary (after all, she is a canary) he can't hold out. Murray agrees to find the feather thief who has kidnapped her friends, but his change of heart comes too late:
Flight of the Diamond Smugglers
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: MATTHEW GAVIN. FRANK
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-08 - Publisher:

A propulsive investigation into the curious role that carrier pigeons play in South African diamond smuggling 'A lyrical portrait of a resilient species caught in the grinding gears of a cruel industry of extraction and exploitation.' Kirk Wallace Johnson, author of The Feather Thief In 2016, Matthew Gavin Frank travelled

Popular All Time

The Third Pole
Relentless
The Boys in the Boat
Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf
Year of the Pitcher
Rebuilding Milo
The Mamba Mentality
Harvey Penick's Little Red Book
Sailing Made Easy
The New Encyclopedia of Modern Bodybuilding
2020 NFHS Track and Field and Cross Country Rules Book
2020 NFHS Baseball Rules Book
Bigger Leaner Stronger
Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game
Legacy
The Optimist
2020 NFHS Football Rules Book
Sports Psychology For Dummies

Recent Books:

Critical Perspectives on Nonacademic Science and Engineering
Authors: Paul T. Durbin - Categories: Technology & Engineering - Published: 1991
The Practical Mechanic and Engineer's Magazine
Authors: Paul T. Durbin - Categories: Industrial arts - Published: 1847
Putting science and engineering at the heart of government policy
Authors: Great Britain: Parliament: House of Commons: Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee - Categories: Political Science - Published: 2009-07-23
Bulletin
Authors: Colorado School of Mines. Technical and Engineering Society - Categories: Engineering - Published: 1906
English-german Technical and Engineering Dictionary
Authors: Louis de De Vries - Categories: ALLEMAND (DICTIONNAIRES) - Published: 1960