Jefferson and Hamilton

Jefferson and Hamilton is the story of the fierce struggle-both public and, ultimately, bitterly personal-between these two titans. It ended only with the death of Hamilton in a pistol duel, felled by Aaron Burr, Jefferson's vice president.

Jefferson and Hamilton

Jefferson and Hamilton

For readers of Ron Chernow's Alexander Hamilton, the spellbinding history of the epic rivalry that shaped our republic: Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and their competing visions for America. The decade of the 1790s has been called the “age of passion.” Fervor ran high as rival factions battled over the course of the new republic-each side convinced that the other's goals would betray the legacy of the Revolution so recently fought and so dearly won. All understood as well that what was at stake was not a moment's political advantage, but the future course of the American experiment in democracy. In this epochal debate, no two figures loomed larger than Thomas Jefferson and Alexander Hamilton. Both men were visionaries, but their visions of what the United States should be were diametrically opposed. Jefferson, a true revolutionary, believed passionately in individual liberty and a more egalitarian society, with a weak central government and greater powers for the states. Hamilton, a brilliant organizer and tactician, feared chaos and social disorder. He sought to build a powerful national government that could ensure the young nation's security and drive it toward economic greatness. Jefferson and Hamilton is the story of the fierce struggle-both public and, ultimately, bitterly personal-between these two titans. It ended only with the death of Hamilton in a pistol duel, felled by Aaron Burr, Jefferson's vice president. Their competing legacies, like the twin strands of DNA, continue to shape our country to this day. Their personalities, their passions, and their bold dreams for America leap from the page in this epic new work from one of our finest historians. From the award-winning author of Almost a Miracle and The Ascent of George Washington, this is the rare work of scholarship that offers us irresistible human drama even as it enriches our understanding of deep themes in our nation's history.

More Books:

Jefferson and Hamilton
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: John Ferling
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-01 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

For readers of Ron Chernow's Alexander Hamilton, the spellbinding history of the epic rivalry that shaped our republic: Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and their competing visions for America. The decade of the 1790s has been called the “age of passion.” Fervor ran high as rival factions battled over the course
Jefferson and Hamilton
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Claude G. Bowers
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1925 - Publisher:

Books about Jefferson and Hamilton
Hamilton vs. Jefferson
Language: en
Pages: 32
Authors: Curtis Slepian
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-01-13 - Publisher: Teacher Created Materials

In this nonfiction text, Hamilton Vs. Jefferson, readers will study the differences between two very important but distinct founding fathers: Alexander Hamilton and Thomas Jefferson. Through the use of dynamic primary sources like maps and letters, middle school students will be engaged as they read about history and build their
Jefferson and Hamilton
Language: en
Pages: 531
Authors: Claude Gernade Bowers
Categories: Democracy
Type: BOOK - Published: 1925 - Publisher:

The history of the twelve years struggle between the conflicting ideals of Hamilton and Jefferson and the imprint they left on the character of the new nation.
Thomas Jefferson & Alexander Hamilton
Language: en
Pages: 521
Authors: John S. Pancake
Categories: Democracy
Type: BOOK - Published: 1974 - Publisher:

Short biographies of two members of President Washington's first cabinet emphasizing the contrast between Hamilton's concern for the public interest and Jefferson's for individual freedom.

Popular All Time

Pity the Reader
Just Mercy
The New Jim Crow
How to Make a Vaccine
This Is Your Brain on Food
On Writing
The Design of Everyday Things
AAA How to Drive
Oil & Gas Production in Nontechnical Language
Edward Lee Oates v. State of Mississippi
7 Great Reasons To Stay Alive And Enjoy It
Blue Sky Island
The Knowledge Gap
The Essential Chomsky
Mechanics of Materials For Dummies
The Conscience of the Constitution
The Fourth Trimester
Dissent and the Supreme Court

Recent Books: